Busy Week!


Wow,

It’s been almost 2 weeks since I’ve posted anything! It feels like forever. I’ve been super busy with work, training, and “the other website”(again don’t really want to plug it here haha, this is just for me 🙂 ).

Well, since my last post, with the Mock Triathlon, I have had several Swim Sessions, all at least 1600 Meters long. I’ve done several great training Rides, isolating tempo, cadence, Heart Rate, and over all speed(individually lol) and been able to get out and get my Brooks Cascadia 10’s Dirty fora few miles.

I won’t go super into detail but, here are some of the Discipline breakdowns lately:

Swimming-

I’ve been working on my swimming a lot. I am not a fast nor efficient swimmer. I can swim fora  long time, staying afloat that is, but I am going no where fast!

Because of this, I have been working mostly on Form and making my Crawl(freestyle) Stroke more smooth, so I can glide more and fight the water less.

The Olympic Triathlon Distance is 1500 Meters(basically 0.9 miles), so I have been making all of my Swims at least that distance and more(usually do a 400 Meter Warm up- I am not really to the point I differentiate a fast or slow pace haha). This is so, I can build my endurance to do the distance needed for the event and have some gas in the tank, so I can refuel on the bike!

I have also completed 1 pool swim in my Wet Suit- a Xterra Vortex Sleeveless. I really liked the feel and the comfort of it. I was able to complete back to back 1500 Meter swims in well under the cut off time(individually) for the event. This was a huge confidence booster for me. I know it is possible!

I have also signed up for some swimming lessons. This is to begin teaching me “how” to become a better swimmer, via drills or other practice and form correction methods.

Over all, I am excited and know that “someday” I will be a competent “fast” swimmer.

Bike

Well, I’ve been able to rack up some more miles on the Bike! I am really and truly enjoying riding, more than I thought I would!

This past little bit, I have put in several 25+ Mile rides. Each ride has concentrated on one of a few things- practicing each one of them to isolate and really get used to doing “that”.

Tempo Rides- These are NOT fun! I have done tempo sets for 2 minutes hard and then rest/recoup/stop throwing up for 4 minutes. I’ll do this for a 30-40 minute ride, then just spin out the rest of the ride at around 90-95 RPM with dead legs. The point of this is to get the gains from the tempo workout and also get my legs and body used to spinning even after being dead tired.

Cadence Rides are just that- Riding as hard as I really can at a high cadence. This is an easy one to cheat on, as all you really have to do is switch to a lighter gear and bam- easier to push! So this one is harder to keep myself honest and to make it just “hard enough” that the muscles get used to it.

My Heart Rate rides really have two parts. The goal is to stay within a certain HR range(changes based on workout) and to keep a 90+ cadence in that HR range. This has required me to go to an easier gear sometimes, to maintain cadence and to keep HR within the desired range. I really think this has also helped me “acclimate” my legs to a good high cadence while keeping my HR low”er”.

I have also gone out and basically tried to go as fast as possible for as long as possible- usually after a 10-15 minute warm-up.

Running

Running has really been good for me lately. I got a 20 Miler in the Sunday before last. The miles seemed very smooth and easy. This was at a Free Trail Race Event put on by TROT(Trail Racing Over Texas). This was super fun and there were a of great runners out there. My overall Race time was just over 5 hours, which was pretty good considering I had stopped and hung out with friends at the Aide Station on each loop(5 miles). My Garmin said I had an avg moving pace of about 12:40. So I was pretty stoked about that, as I hadn’t really pushed at all.

I put in a couple of miles with my dogs during last week. They really enjoyed it. Just did a mile each, but they were having the time of the their lives.

This past Sunday I put in a 4.2 mile run. My goal was to hit an 8:50 avg for this run. As I went along I kept my pace up and ended up with an 8:33 avg! This was great for me as I have really run any distance at this faster pace(yeah this is faster for me haha) in a long time. After this, I immediately went for about an extra 1.5 miles, to really let my legs stretch back out and begin to get the acid out of my legs, I slowed this run down to just under 10 minute pace.

For the last few weeks I have had an uncomfortable right knee. It felt like the tendon behind it was tight. I made sure I was rolling and stretching the quad, hamstring, and calf. This really wasn’t doing anything for me. I have been super careful to try and not get any over use injuries and to take care of myself with proper nutrition(ok nutrition more like it hehe) and rest.

After about 2 weeks of this I finally broke down and called up a Chiropractor. A buddy recommended his and I’ve had a few sessions with him over the last week. My knee already feels great and the rest of my leg is feeling much better(stronger and looser) too. I am going to continue going to see how much better I can get the rest of my body!

I am now about 2 1/2 weeks out from Kemah Triathlon. The following weekend is the MS150(which I am still trying to raise donations for me to qualify to participate- but man it is rough!). The weekend after that is the Brazos Bend 50 Miler. The Wife and I have decided to do the 50K instead of the 50 Miles. I’m a bit sad, but it will still be a hell of a challenge!

Well that’s the “Catch-up” for now. I’ll be hitting a run and getting a Swim coaching session later tonight. I am excited to see how far I can keep going!

That’s all for now! Thank you very much for reading. Remember, if you have any questions or comments, let me know!!

Leave a Reply

