A Recovery Bike Ride on a Great Day!


Looking Like an Idiot before the Ride
Looking Like an Idiot before the Ride

First up, I got my Bike Back on Tuesday!!! Woot woot. I took it in on Monday to get it serviced(have about 500 miles on it now 🙂 ). They gave it a good once over and made sure everything was still tight and in the right position. We went ahead and lowered my bars a couple of spacers, as I had noticed I had been riding more and more in the drops. It was just very comfortable. So we dropped the bars and we shall see how that feels over the next few rides. “It’s gettin Aero in here!”. Haha.

I also picked up some new shorts. I think I’ll do some reviews on the other pieces of gear I have over the next week or so- so we can get a baseline of how the gear is performing thus far.

Yesterday was an easy ride kind of day. After a long weekend of riding, and then several runs at the beginning of the week, my legs felt tired and more than a little sore.

My buddy came to drag me as usual(he is way too fast for me to over take him if he doesn’t want me to lol). He kept the pace fairly slow and sedate- compared to what he can do. Compared to what I can do, I still spiked my heart rate a few times(over 165) keeping the pace. I mostly kept my HR low, as my average for the ride was 152.

This was a nice 25 mile ride through a few highway type roads and sub-urban areas. It was great to just spin and let the stress in my legs out. I noticed a few times where my legs really felt sore. However, after the ride, they felt great. Really couldn’t believe how good they felt the rest of the evening.

I only drank water and an electrolyte drink throughout the ride, since it was so short. I had dinner pretty much waiting when I got home.

The bike performed great. No missed gears or jumping up or down gears. Very smooth and solid with no issues or worries. The dropped bars also felt very comfortable. I didn’t feel like I was leaning too much on my hands(while on the hoods) and I still felt comfortable down in the drops. I originally was very afraid of leaning too far forward and being uncomfortable, but now that I’ve gotten some more miles on me, I really like that position. I feel like it makes it easier to keep my back straight and my hips rotated correctly. Keeping good contact on the saddle and my legs feel great. We will see how this goes and adjust from there. I don’t see myself getting too much lower, but I am glad to know that I am still comfortable with a little change.

I figure I’ll start doing my own maintenance for the next service, and maybe take the bike in once a year to have it eyeballed by a professional. I do my own motorcycle maintenance, how hard can a bicycle be?

In the end it was a great day. Sun was out for most of it. The wind was out too, which made for some difficult sections, but nothing that couldn’t be conquered and ridden through!

Afterwards I felt energetic and ready to take on the World! Haha.

You can see the workout by Clicking Here.

Leave a Reply

